The Rotary Club of Carson City installed new leadership at a dinner held Tuesday, June 27th.
The Rotary Club of Carson City installed new leadership at a dinner held Tuesday, June 27th.
Founded in 1938, the local service club focuses on projects that benefit the Carson City community as well as programs that benefit our area’s young people through scholarships, leadership academies, the high school Speech and Music Contest and the Rotary Exchange Program. 
New club President Richard Perry says he is honored to lead the club this year. “Rotarians are people of action who make a difference in their community and build long-lasting fellowship with other Rotarians,” he said.  “Our local club focuses on supporting K-12 education and scholarships for Carson City students and those who need help to re-tool for careers in our community”.
Perry has been a Rotarian for 21 years, having joined the Carson Club in 2014 after moving here from Elko.  Perry had a long career in the natural resources industry, most recently as the Administrator of the Nevada Division of Minerals.  He also serves as an appointed member of the Carson City Planning Commission.  His Rotary contributions in the past have been as the Chair of the Capital City Brewfest and organizer of the Rotary Youth Exchange Nevada Day Parade events. 
Immediate Past President Rachelle Resnick says she is proud of what the club accomplished this past year. “We provided over 900 air purifiers to teachers and staff of the Carson City School District, donated to Salvation Army to help 25 families enjoy Christmas, awarded Carson High School a $5,000 grant to help preserve its history and, together with several community partners, created a piece of public art that should help tourism and that everyone in the community can enjoy,” she said.  “Our club is in good hands with incoming president Rich Perry and I look forward to seeing what he and our club have in store for next year."
Other installations included President-Elect Joe Walls, Secretary Amanda Jacobson, Treasurer Mike Pelham, Sargent-at Arms Nathan Rakestraw, and Board Members Garrett Lepire, Jon Copoulos, and Jon Ruiter. The Rotarian of the Year was awarded to Frederick Osterhagen for his work on the air purifier project.